Crying, again? (Part 2 of 2)

After my father read my previous blog post,  he prayed for me and he told me that he received a word from the Lord!

But before I tell you what he told me, I need to tell you what happened last Sunday, Jan 8th. I was asked to give a short sharing for the Missions Committee meeting which I’m part of. The text I picked is this one:

Matthew 9:35-38  And Jesus went throughout all the cities and villages, teaching in their synagogues and proclaiming the gospel of the kingdom and healing every disease and every affliction. When he saw the crowds, he had compassion for them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd.  Then he said to his disciples, “The harvest is plentiful, but the laborers are few; therefore pray earnestly to the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into his harvest.”

Probably quite a familiar passage to Christians. I shared how missions must be a movement towards the ends of the earth, as Jesus went everywhere. I also shared how his ministry was holistic, where he healed people’s physical ailments and not just their spiritual ones.

We usually focus on verses 37 and 38 where Jesus talks about the harvest being plentiful, and asking us to pray for laborers. But often we forget verse 36:

Matthew 9:36 When he saw the crowds, he had compassion for them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd.

We see that Jesus had compassion when he saw the crowd. He saw them as lost, misguided, uncared for, unloved. And he had compassion. Compassion is a moving of your inward emotions, that hopefully spurs you into doing something.

Now, we have to ask ourselves, are we not doing missions, or evangelizing, simply because we lack compassion?

I asked that to myself and prayed to the Lord to help me see the lost through his eyes. His eyes of compassion. That he would give me a heart of compassion.

Fast forward to Thursday and my crying.

And so back to my papa’s words to me today. He said:

Sean, God is giving you a heart of compassion. A heart that empathizes with others. Did you not share at the Missions meeting how Jesus had compassion and we need it to be our motivation to action too? God is answering your prayer. He is breaking your hardened heart, to make it soft, so that you may have compassion for people.

Exactly! I always felt I didn’t have a “pastor’s heart” or a compassionate heart. Now God us changing me into a more compassionate and loving person. To be able to empathize with hurting people is an important skill to have in ministry.

Praise God. Better get ready more tissue paper 🙂

Leave a Reply

