What do you do when you don’t know the next step

What do you do when you don’t know the next step? I’m sure we all have encountered times in our lives where we just have no idea what choice to make or what to do next. It’s definitely something that may cause stress and anxiety for anyone.

Just some thoughts I have from a Christian perspective.

First, remember that God is in control.

He is in complete control of everything, including everything that is happening in your life and mine right now. The Bible says in Psalm 139 that God knows when you rise and when you lie down, and knows all about you. He cares about us so, so much. Here’s what Jesus himself said,

Matthew 6:25-27 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?”

What this means practically is that when we can’t understand the things that are happening around us, what we have to remember is that everything is in God’s control. Things may not be something He approves of, but be sure in your heart, that His plans will come to pass.

Secondly, remember that God leads us step by step.

Psalm 119:105 says “Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path.”

A lamp for our feet only illuminates a small area around us, probably only enough for us to take the next step safely. (When I think lamp here, I’m thinking it’s similar to a lantern or oil lamp, not a torchlight!) What this means practically is that God may only tell us what’s our next step, and in obedience, we have to trust and obey him, before he shows us what’s next.

That was true for Abram who was told by God to leave his home and go to the land God would show him. And that’s what He did, with no clue to where he was going or what he was to do there.

I am currently doing my graduate studies ( doctorate in microbiology) because God has led me in this path so far. I believe He brought me to where I am working right now as He wants me here as part of his plan. However, I can honestly say that I don’t know what’s next for me after I get my doctorate, but I’m choosing to leave that in God’s hands and trust He’ll guide me when I need to take the next step.

“Your word is a lamp.” God’s word is key to guiding us.
It’s important to read God’s word and pray. He will speak to us as we do so.

Thirdly, remember that God’s will is that we remain in Jesus.

John 15:5-8 “I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. If anyone does not remain in me, he is like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be given you.”

Learn from Jesus’ example. He said that being led by Him was not burdensome, in fact, it would give us rest. He has promised to lead us gently and humbly, isn’t that great?

Matthew 11:28-30″Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

I really have more to say about this important matter, maybe next time.
God bless!

2 thoughts on “What do you do when you don’t know the next step

  1. This post is just what I needed to read. It’s been a difficult time for me and my faith is waning. I have been wondering if my belief system is factual. Recently
    on a camping trip, I had to use a lantern to get back to my tent at night. I could only see my immediate surroundings. A few steps ahead on the ground and nothing ahead of me. What a great analogy, it really made me think. Keep writing. Your blog is needed.

Leave a Reply

