Calm in the Face of a Storm

Yesterday, the pastor in church spoke on Psalm 46.

 1 God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.
2 Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way
and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea,
3 though its waters roar and foam
and the mountains quake with their surging.

10 He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;

   I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth.”

 11 The LORD Almighty is with us;
the God of Jacob is our fortress.

Calm in the storms of life, because we know and trust in the God who is with us.

This brought to mind something I saw  quite a long time back but the picture stuck in my head for some reason.

I was walking home from the MRT and the sky was really overcast with dark clouds. Really ominous and I could see lightning flashing in the distance. The thunder was deafening. It was quite scary and I wanted to get home quick.

(Picture of a overcast sky, obtained from Flickr, amazingly photographed by Marion Doss)

Walking in front of me was a young mother carrying a baby in her arms, and the baby’s head was resting on her shoulder, so that it faced me. And the baby was sleeping so soundly. I was thinking

How can this baby sleep when the thunder and lightning are so scary?

The answer is this: The baby has complete trust in his mother and has achieved a state of perfect rest and calm even if a storm looms overhead.

What an awesome picture of our relationship with God! How I wish I can be just like that sleeping baby resting in the arms of God, not having a care in the world cause I know and trust Him to protect and take care of me.

I guess a baby knows better than us how to trust someone completely….

Leave a Reply

