Love and Giving

My father used to tell me one of his favorite phrases:

“You can give without loving, but you cannot  love without giving.”

I have never really given much thought to it, but I was reminded of it today as I came across one of Mother Teresa’s sayings, I will quote it here for you:

This is taken from the book “Where There is Love, There is God” pg. 4

‘In an interview Mother Teresa was once asked, “Can you sum up what love really is?”

She promptly replied:  “Love is giving. God loved the world so much that He gave His Son. Jesus loved the world so much, loved you, loved me so much that He gave His life. And He wants us to love as he loved. And so now we have also to give until it hurts. True love is giving and giving until it hurts.”‘

And so there you have it in Mother Teresa’s words of wisdom, and also in the words of my dad:

“You can give without loving, but you cannot  love without giving.”

Leave a Reply

